There are days I wake up and don’t want to get out of bed

I am lucky not to have ever really suffered from depression or any other mental health condition. I have both friends and family who do and, not least because of the stigma still attached to it, it can be pretty horrific.

Some days however I wake up feeling pretty bleak. There is no particular reason for it, no ‘trigger’ as such – least not one that I can identify, just a sense of grimness. Today is one of those days.

Everything becomes such an effort, from getting out of bed to going to work, and the smallest problem rapidly turns in to a major crisis. For instance, I just nearly burst into tears because a train to Coventry was cancelled. I suspect there will be half a dozen more such instances before the day is out.

I am lucky in that these episodes, if they are even worthy of that title, last for a day at most and often only a few hours. They are also few and far between. Those battling with depression often cope with emotions much darker than this and for far longer periods.

On days like this the best I find I can do is to surround myself with the people and things I love and remind myself I’ll be up again before long. It doesn’t work for everyone, but it tends to get me through the day. In fact, a few months ago, I posted something to get me through days like today – the good news is it seems to work. You can read it here- http://thisisboris.com/2011/07/18/10-reasons-i-am-happy/

Tc Bx

Leave a Reply

