My Desert Island Discs

Ok, so they are not actually inviting me on the show or anything. (Although I am available should anyone from Radio 4 be reading!). But after a conversation with my team earlier we thought it would be fun to do our own desert island discs. Here are mine (apologies, I am not even as cool as I look…)

Music

1 Do they know its Christmas? – Band Aid. – One of two Christmas songs that makes me cry every time I hear it. The other? Little Donkey.

2 $1,000,000 – BareNaked Ladies – Reminds me of good-times in the Students’ Union offices at Loughborough

3 Jealousy – The Pet Shop Boys were the first band I ever saw live. Being honest, everyone else I have seen since have been somewhat of a disappointment.

4 Canon in D – Pachelbel – Some of you will know it better as the opening chord sequence from ‘All Together Now’ by The Farm. Was played as the processional music at my wedding. Never been happier.

5 Under the Bridge – Red Hot Chilli Peppers. Reminds me of the summer I spent in Germany and Denmark when I contracted Meningitis. I had a great summer, my family? Not so much…

6 Ave Maria – Is one of the most beautiful pieces of music ever played (and a favourite of Josh Lyman in The West Wing :))

7 Mr Bojangles – Nina Simone – I first heard it when Robbie Williams sung it and loved it – but then I dug the Nina Simone version out and loved it even more. Just fabulous.

8 The Ghost in You – Counting Crows – When you are 16 this song seems to deliver every profound message about life and love you could ever want it to. I still love it now.

Is that it? How depressing! There were loads of almost in’s… Let’s Get It On, Killing Me Softly With His Song, You’re Gorgeous (last two both from Uni days), Monster and loads more. But I guess I have to be strict!

Book – This one is easy. I would take the collected diaries of Tony Benn. Living legend and one of the greatest ever diarists.

Luxury Item – I am guessing I wouldn’t be allowed to take my iPad, and besides I suspect the Island wouldn’t have Wi-Fi. So perhaps a case of the Port my Uni friends laid down for me when I got married – that would be a treat .

One comment

  1. I think I’d be taking the port thanks very much 🙂 x
    I reckon there’ll be wi fi – the ‘family’ iPad is all yours xxx

Leave a Reply

